4 Weeks to Go…

I can’t believe we’ve only got a month left to go in Whistler (it’s also been over a month since I last posted – soz avid readers!) Time has gone so quickly, it feels only months ago that we were counting down the weeks to flying out to Canada. It’s going to be tough to leave, but it helps that we’ve got some pretty exciting travel plans in place!

Since I last wrote our travel plans for Whistler have changed a little, we are no longer planning on going to Australia and Asia as it’s too expensive to fly there from South America and Whistler is killing our bank balance. We are still planning on doing our trip round America which we’ve pretty much got sorted now – woohoo. We will be leaving Whistler on the 22nd April to go to Vancouver Island. From there we will be heading down to Seattle -> San Fran -> San Diego -> LA -> Vegas Baby -> Gran Canyon -> Salt Lake City – > Yellowstone -> Cody – > Denver – > New York -> Washington -> Chicago then finally to Miami before heading to Brazil. I’m tired just reading that list, we’ll be driving over 4,000 miles in just over a month! Then after Brazil for the World Cup, we will be going to go to a few other countries in South America, starting with Peru, Bolivia, Argentina and Chile. Money will determine where we go next/when we book those dreaded one-way tickets back to the UK.

Okay, back to Whistler… these last few weeks have been great. The snow has continued to fall through March and we’ve had some epic powder days:

 

We made a long overdue trip to Bounce which is like an indoor trampolining place, ideally located next to Whistler’s brewery! Bounce was good fun, though I underestimated how tiring bouncing up and down on a trampoline would be. So the visit to the brewery was a good call! We did the tour of the brewery, but let’s face it, we were really just doing it for the free samples. The tour was better than expected and brought back memories of my little brother fainting at the brewery tour we did when we were younger!

Our work have been giving us free activities to do so that we can sell it to guests (and probably to make us feel better about getting paid minimum wage!). The latest one was Ziptrek, which I had done when my family was over for Christmas, but obviously I wasn’t going to turn down another chance to do it for free. The second time was just as good. I managed to go upside down on a few of the zips this time which was so much more fun!

I’ve now reached over 50 days of boarding for the season, which is about 8 years of riding if we were to have just one holiday a year (it’s going to be tough to go back to that!). I’m finally happy with how I’ve progressed with boarding. I’m not going to be winning any medals anytime soon, but I can get down most runs now without falling too much and am a lot faster than I was in November. Kyle and our friends don’t have to wait for me aslong anymore so that’s progress!

As we get free ski and snowboard lessons for working for Whistler Blackcomb, I’m going to be trying a skiing lesson next week…eeekkk! I had done a week of attempting to ski 3 years ago in Bulgaria, until I quickly switched to boarding (I’m too cool for skiing…). So I want to give it another go – wish me luck!

The most exciting thing to happen since my last post happened 2 days ago and if you haven’t seen on my Facebook already, there was a flash mob proposal that I was a part of! A friend from work, Sofie’s boyfriend had been planning this for months and I was excited as soon as I found out. As a hopeless dancer, I opted to just come in from the mob for the end bit to do the simple dance at the end. The whole thing was amazing and Sofie didn’t even a clue, she stood there and filmed it all like everyone else! Just as amazing was how she never found out, literally the whole of Whistler knew about it and hundreds turned out to watch. It couldn’t have gone any better and was such a good atmosphere and excitement for the happy couple. I (among many, many others) unashamedly cried as she said yes.

Here’s the official video of the flash mob:

 

Better get back to planning our travels… eeekk! Thanks for reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “4 Weeks to Go…

    • Hey Dave. We probably spent about £1,500 in the first few weeks buying snowboards, skis etc and surviving the first few weeks without working. Then since we just survive on our wages and have actually managed to save some of our wages from Whistler so we have about $2,000 Canadian. Hope that helps!

Leave a comment