Snow Much Fun

The snow is back!!! I had faith it would return and it’s back with a vengeance. Whistler was having the worst season in about 20 years, even the BBC pointed out last week that some Scottish resorts have more snow than here in Whistler… but not anymore! In the last 7 days we’ve had over 140cm of snow fall and it doesn’t look like it’s going to stop anytime soon.

Like the last time we had a lot of snow, my days off fell at the perfect time. For my first day off we had about 15cm of pow then the second we had 35cm! Like everyone else I got up for the first lift at 8.15 so there were big queues which weren’t moving due to waiting on avalanche clearance. Well worth the wait though, even the main groomed runs still had great snow on them and we found good stashes of powder. I had so much fun going down some of the bowls and tree runs. Boarding from 8.30-3 both days killed me off – definitely the most tired I’ve been. The snow hasn’t stopped since then and I now have two days off again to enjoy even better powder!

IMG_3346 IMG_3347 IMG_3366 IMG_3369 IMG_3372 IMG_3391

It was also perfectly timed that our work had us booked on to go snowmobiling in the backcountry! Me and Kyle had done snowmobiling before in Bulgaria, but I was too wimpy to drive it then so I had to man up and give it a go this time.You’d think it wouldn’t be that difficult to drive but I couldn’t quite get the hang of it. Within the first few corners this happened…

Snowmobiling Whistler    Snowmobiling Whistler

The group had to dig my snow mobile out of the trees! I took it nice and steady for a while until I took a took a wrong turn, tried to reverse and fell off with the snowmobile landing on me! The tour guy had to come rescue me again. We then we to a frozen lake where we could do laps and put our foot down. It was so much fun and I didn’t have to worry about falling down the side of a cliff! We went down a big drop by the side of the lake, which looked fine from a distance but I sh*t myself when I got to the top of it and looked down. There was no turning back so just had to go forward and let the snowmobile drop down…. amazing!

Screen shot 2014-02-18 at 19.10.24

Woops

We then carried on further up the trial. The views were amazing so we stopped to take photos and to enjoy the waist deep snow! I finally got the hang of driving so the way back down was so much fun. Think I got up to about 85km/h.

Powder turns people crazy. We had 31cm overnight one day and every man and his dog turned up to enjoy it (It’s a US bank holiday & most colleges have holidays) and I’ve never seen such big queues. Validating was not fun, people were getting aggravated and we got shouted out quite a few times. One women was really angry and shouted at me telling me I wasn’t scanning quick enough! I scanned over 2,500 people in two days and am now over 20,000 for the season.

As I speak it’s snowed non stop since 6.30am so it’s going to be another epic powder day tomorrow! I get so giddy waking up and seeing how much snow there has been overnight. I even woke Kyle up at 6am one day telling him how much snow there had been overnight..he wasn’t that impressed. More snow pics….

Can’t think of anything else that’s happened, apart from I won $100 at work for taking the most payments with Amex cards… so that will come in nicely!

Early night tonight as going to do Fresh Tracks in the morning (early upload & a buffet breakfast!) so have to be at the gondola for about 6am! Who needs a lie in on your day off when there is fresh pow eh?!

One thought on “Snow Much Fun

Leave a comment